Chilean Logic

We were sitting at a table in the studio for my screen printing class and making casual conversation with our professor, Paula. The conversation turned into a discussion about whether or not we look like one parent or a mixture of the two. We were going around sharing and then Paula turned to my friend Annie. She asked her if everyone in her family had blonde hair or just her. I was immediately confused. You see, Annie’s hair is exactly the same shade of brown that mine is, which is nowhere near blonde. The moments afterward continued like this:

Paula: So they all have blonde hair like you Annie?

Annie looks puzzled.

Me: Wait a second. You think her hair is blonde?

Paula: Of course. What other color could it be?

Me: Umm well what color do you think my hair is?

Paula: Brown.

Me: So Annie has blonde hair and mine is brown.

Paula: Yes.

Me: How can that be? Why is hers blonde?

Paula: She has blue eyes.

Me: So then her hair is blonde because–

Paula: –she has blue eyes.

Me: And my hair is brown because–

Paula: –you have brown eyes.

Me: So eye color determines hair color.

Paula: Exactly.

Me: Oh I see.

The thing is throughout this conversation Paula acted like this train of thought was completely rational and didn’t understand why there was any confusion in the first place.

Tags: , , ,

3 Comments to “Chilean Logic”

  1. So what color hair do my green eyes give me?

Leave a comment